Staying in Character

I managed 1.4 out of the 1.5k word goal. Not great but not bad. This week I’m bumping it up to 2000 words.

Meanwhile, I have a new challenge. I tend to write with one main protagonist. So that’s only one head I’m inside when I write. With this new story, I’m delving into two main protagonists. They’re stories intertwine, but seldom on stage at the same time, so to speak. To keep it easy on myself, I’m separating their POV by chapter. Somewhat rigid, I know, it I think it’ll help keep me on track.

I start the second POV character this week, so we’ll see how it goes! The trick for me will be to keep each character unique and in character. The benefit of one person POV is once you get that voice down, you carry it through the book. Now i’ll need to switch mindsets and voice each chapter,.

Wish me luck!

7 Comments

  1. I’ve read some fascinating books all in one POV, and I’ve read some fascinating books that swapped POV every chapter, and I’ve read some fascinating books that jumped POVs from scene to scene, all depending on how the story needed to be told.

    One thing that usually makes me want to throw a book through the wall, though, is when an author jumps POV within the same scene and without any warning. There is one book I recently read, with one scene in particular, where the POV character falls asleep and the scene continues for several paragraphs without her. I almost threw the book away!

    Good luck on your experiment! I’m sure you’ll do well. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks! Yes, one of my own pet peeves is the unexpected head swapping POV shift mid scene. That’s one of the reasons I’ve typically stuck to one POV throughout.

      • I’m trying plotting my current novel through each main character’s head, so I’ll have four timeliness going eventually, and I can flesh out the scenes according to whose POV I’m using.

  2. Seems odd to change character pov by chapter instead of by scene, unless you are planning to change “pov” and create a hybrid of 1st pov and 3 pov. but hey rules are meant to be broken.

    Check out my blog Chillingthrills.blogspot.com

  3. My first book was a series of POV interviews about the same events and I found I had to write all of one beg-end first and then write the 2nd etc that way I managed to keep all the voices intact – it is difficult but kind of fun doing more than one voice – I had def. real people in mind when I wrote each one, with their manerisims. that helped too. kept each on through the day so I could think like them as I went about stuff like shopping etc.

    all the best with the writing this coming week:)

Leave a Reply

