Books: Smooth like Buttah, or thick n meaty?

I’ve been contemplating which book to read next, and I come to my usual delilema – am I looking for an easy read that goes down smooth, or something with more meat to it that will take time to digest, chapter by chapter?

Most of the lesbian fiction I read falls in the easy read chapter (except for Sarah Waters and Laurie J Marks of course).  And the MZB Darkover books are fairly easy reads, but then there’s C. J. Cherryh, who’s seldom easy but always worth that extra effort. And I recently discovered Karen Traviss’ Wess’Har series, whichhas some nice meat to it.

Part of my dilema is that I don’t own the next book (chronologically) in the MZB series and it’s on my xmas wishlist.  So I hafta shift gears and either jump ahead, or start reading someone else from now till the holidays.

So… got any recommendations in either lesbian fiction or SF books?

4 Comments

  1. Yeah – a lot of Lackey’s books are a bit wimpish. Especially her “Bard” series. The trilogy I mentioned isn’t as bad though. They’re fantasy – warrior woman & mage.

  2. Thanks Ze!

    I’ve been reading Cherryh’s Union-Alliance books (and there are a LOT of them). I think I have 3 of the Chronicles of Morgaine series that I haven’t started yet, plus a scattering of her other books that I’ve picked up at library book sales.

    For Mercedes Lackey – I’ve tried a couple of her books but found them too ‘flowery’ for lack of a better word. Her descriptions are amazing but they don’t hold my interest unfortunately. I know I tried one of her respinning of a fairytale (I want to say Sleeping Beauty or something) and just couldn’t get into it (despite excellent writing).

  3. You could try Mercedes Lackey. Her Vows & Honor trilogy is good (Oathbound; Oathbreakers; Oathblood).

    And I don’t know which Cherryh series you’re reading but the four part Chronicles of Morgaine (Gate of Ivrel; Well of Shiuan; Fires of Azeroth; Exile’s Gate) are absolutely brilliant

Leave a Reply

